gichin funakoshi shotokan karate do

Shotokan is the basic style of the Karate-Jutsu Federation. It's a traditional Japanese style, created in 1936 by the outstanding Okinawan master Gichin Funakoshi – ahigly educated person, philologist and poet. It was the pseudonym "Shoto" that Funakoshi used in his literary work that served as the basis for the name of his style "Shotokan", which means "Society of the Shoto".

Gichin Funakoshi was an iconic figure in karate and stood out strongly against the background of all masters of that time. Most of them were good fighters, but poorly educated and even ignorant. It is not surprising that their students treated karate only as a system of hard hand-to-hand combat without philosophy, traditions and culture. Gichin Funakoshi, on the contrary, being a cultured and educated person, devoted great importance to the moral development of the individual. He formulated the principle that has become virtually the motto of all modern karate: "In karate not victory or defeat is important: the main thing is spiritual perfection." This principle, at first glance, does not meet the requirements of people who came to study karate only for self-defense skills: they want to win always and everywhere. But on closer examination, the true meaning of the master's phrase becomes clear: it is impossible to always win, each of us can lose in a battle or get into a difficult situation. And here it is important to remain Human and preserve honor and dignity!

shotokan karate do logo emblem

This is why Shotokan is ideal for teaching children and young people: this style was actively promoted by the Japanese government in the first half of the twentieth century for teaching in universities and schools as a means of spiritual and physical development. Shotokan is the style for which Japan's first public karate organization, JKA, the Japanese Karate Association, called the "Academy of Shotokan", was established in 1949.

Technically, along with a deep moral foundation and adherence to traditions, Shotokan is one of the most rigid styles, developing great physical strength and forming strong self-defense skills. A controversial disadvantage of this style is the large number of organizations that have switched to the so-called "score-based" system of conducting fighting (or "long-distance fighting"), in which the victory in competitions depends not on the actual superiority of one opponent over another, for example, a knockout or knockdown, but on the purity of technology and the scores and points gained. This fact, however, speaks not about the shortcomings of the Shotokan itself, but only about the rules of competitions, which may vary. At the same time the basic technique, which is the basis of the style, remains unchanged and gives followers a huge potential that can be revealed both at sports tournaments and in real life street fight. Shotokan is a universal style that combines dynamics and power with beauty and grace, strength and invincibility in fight with etiquette and culture!

гичин гитин фунакоси фунакоши сетокан шотокан каратэ

Сётокан - базовый стиль Федерации каратэ-дзюцу. Это традиционный японский стиль, созданный в 1936-м году выдающимся окинавским мастером Гичином Фунакоси (1868 - 1957), образованнейшим человеком, филологом и поэтом. Именно псевдоним "Сёто", который использовал Фунакоси в своей литературной деятельности, послужил основой для названия его стиля "Сётокан", что означает "Общество Сёто".

Гичин Фунакоси был знаковой фигурой в каратэ и сильно выделялся на фоне мастеров того времени. Большинство из них были хоть и хорошими бойцами, но плохо образованными и даже невежественными. Неудивительно, что их ученики относились к каратэ лишь как к системе жёсткого рукопашного боя, без философии, традиций и культуры. Гичин Фунакоси, напротив, будучи культурным и образованным человеком, предавал огромное значение нравственному развитию личности. Он сформулировал принцип, ставший фактически девизом всего современного каратэ: "В каратэ не важна победа или поражение, главное - духовное совершенство". Этот принцип, на первый взгляд, не отвечает требованиям людей, пришедшим в каратэ лишь за навыками самозащиты: они хотят побеждать всегда и везде. Но при более глубоком рассмотрении становится понятен истинный смысл, заложенный мастером в эту фразу: побеждать всегда нельзя, каждый из нас может проиграть в бою или попасть в трудную ситуацию. И здесь важно остаться Человеком, не потерять лицо, сохранить честь и достоинство!

сетокан шотокан каратэ карате до

Именно поэтому Сётокан идеально подходит для обучения детей и молодёжи. Этот стиль в первой половине XX века активно продвигался правительством Японии для преподавания в университетах и школах как средство духовного и физического развития. Сётокан является стилем, для которого в 1949-м году была создана первая в Японии организация каратэ - Японская ассоциация каратэ (JKA), именуемая "Академией Сётокана". Шеф-инструктором JKA в течение многих лет был ученик Гичина Фунакоси - Масатоси Накаяма, подготовивший таких великих мастеров как Хирокацу Каназава, Кейносукэ Эноэда, Хидео Очи и многих других.

Технически, вместе с глубокой нравственной основой и приверженностью традициям, Сётокан является одним из самых жёстких стилей, развивающий у своих последователей большую физическую силу и формирующий крепкие навыки самозащиты. На эмблеме стиля изображён тигр, символизирующий мощность и непобедимость. Спорным недостатком Сётокана является большое число организаций, практикующих так называемую "очковую" систему проведения поединков (или "поединков на большой дистанции"), в которых победа на соревнованиях зависит не от фактического превосходства одного противника над другим, например - нокаута или нокдауна, а от чистоты техники и набранных очков и баллов. Этот факт, однако, говорит не о недостатках самого Сётокана, а лишь о правилах проведения соревнований, которые могут различаться. При этом базовая техника, являющаяся основой стиля, остаётся без изменений и наделяет последователей огромным потенциалом, который можно раскрыть как на спортивных турнирах, так и в реальном уличном бою. Сётокан - это универсальный стиль, соединяющий динамику и мощность с красотой и изяществом, силу и несокрушимость в бою - с этикетом и культурой!